The 7 Steps to Happiness

Happiness is your birthright.

Yogi Bhajan
Yogi Bhajan outlined 7 steps to happiness.  Have you taken the first step?
1st Step –  Commitment

In every life you are meant to commit. That is why the word is commitmeant. Commitment gives you character.

2nd Step – Character

Think of the positive qualities in self and others – that is character.  Our character is brought forth by our original commitment. No commitment, no character. Character gives you dignity.

3rd Step – Dignity

When you have character, people will like you, trust you, respect you. You will like you, trust you, respect you – this is dignity. Dignity will give you divinity.

4th Step – Divinity

Divinity, that is a powerful word, a word used to describe Godliness. To get to this stage, commitment had to be there, around which character was strengthened, which led to dignity. Divinity is the 4th step, half way on the way to happiness. Divinity meets you at half way point. It’s where Divine takes over.  This is the point, where it gets easier to fulfill that commitment, as if the whole world is coming together to serve the commitment.  There is no longer you, only the commitment. Divinity gives you grace.

5th Step – Grace

Where there is grace, there is no interference, no gap, no hidden agenda. Grace gives you the power to sacrifice.

6th Step – Sacrifice

You can stand any pain for your commitment. Sacrifice gives you happiness.

7th Step – Happiness

Happiness, the final step, and it all started with commitment.

You should make yourself so happy, that by looking at you other people become happy.

Yogi Bhajan

Share this: